Cable PVR and DVD recorder

Got a question or suggestion regarding the site or forum? post it here

Moderator: Referees

User avatar
greycupgarry
2017 MVP
2017 MVP
Posts: 18242
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Sect. 217 Fav. Teams: Argos, Leafs, Stamps, Flames, Patriots, Browns, Storm, Holland
Contact:

Cable PVR and DVD recorder

Post by greycupgarry » Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:30 am

If I have a game recorded on my Cable companie's PVR. Should i be able to transfer it on my DVD recorder?
if you have noticed this notice you will have noticed that this notice is not worth noticing

BBBob
Hall of Famer
Posts: 9041
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 9:17 am

Post by BBBob » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:09 am

I would think (keyword:think) that you can do this pal - simply connect the PVR outputs to the DVDR inputs.

Please let us know if it works pal!

:beer:

User avatar
greycupgarry
2017 MVP
2017 MVP
Posts: 18242
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Sect. 217 Fav. Teams: Argos, Leafs, Stamps, Flames, Patriots, Browns, Storm, Holland
Contact:

Post by greycupgarry » Wed Sep 27, 2006 10:58 am

Thanks Studdering Bob. I think that is the way it is hooked up now so I guess I'll try it.

BTW, I've had this set up since January and haven't even tried recording anything yet. :o
if you have noticed this notice you will have noticed that this notice is not worth noticing

User avatar
Inquiring Mind
Hall of Famer
Posts: 6576
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:24 pm

Post by Inquiring Mind » Wed Sep 27, 2006 11:52 am

I don't see why you couldn't, I used to have a switch set up so that I could run my PVR through my Computer or PC and never had a problem.
-

Look. We can go round and round about this all the live long day. Let's keep it simple. I embody amazement. Can you dig on that? Good. Then meet me on the corner of rock and roll, and bring a flask of something that burns.

User avatar
Ab
Champion
Posts: 3826
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2003 7:51 pm
Location: Southern Ontario

Post by Ab » Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:35 pm

The only problem I could see is if the PVR had any sort of macrovision that would prevent you from recording on another device- like vcr to vcr.

User avatar
Inquiring Mind
Hall of Famer
Posts: 6576
Joined: Sat Jul 03, 2004 1:24 pm

Post by Inquiring Mind » Wed Sep 27, 2006 6:18 pm

Ab wrote:The only problem I could see is if the PVR had any sort of macrovision that would prevent you from recording on another device- like vcr to vcr.


There are ways around that.... :wink:

[legal] Not that I would ever dream of such a transgression[/legal]

:lol:
-

Look. We can go round and round about this all the live long day. Let's keep it simple. I embody amazement. Can you dig on that? Good. Then meet me on the corner of rock and roll, and bring a flask of something that burns.

Gerry
Champion
Posts: 3725
Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2003 4:47 pm
Location: Surrey, BC

Post by Gerry » Mon Jan 29, 2007 8:36 pm

So, Garry, did it work? I'd like to do the same thing myself.

User avatar
greycupgarry
2017 MVP
2017 MVP
Posts: 18242
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Sect. 217 Fav. Teams: Argos, Leafs, Stamps, Flames, Patriots, Browns, Storm, Holland
Contact:

Post by greycupgarry » Tue Jan 30, 2007 1:30 am

I haven't even tried yet. But need to soon. I have saved stuff on the PVR and want to get it done. My problem is I had a A/V specialist set up my whole home theatre and there are so many monster cables hokked up and snaked through everything that it is very intimidating to start rewiring. I'll probably try this weekend now that this thread has resurfaced and I can get my balls up to try again.

:o

I also keep forgetting what discs to get at Staples when I go in there. :? :? I think it is DVD-RW Video.

I'm really not this dumb where technology is concerned. Just wish I had paid attention when the whole thing was being set up. :cross:

I'm really not this dumb
(but your a Argo Fan) :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:


:popcorn:
if you have noticed this notice you will have noticed that this notice is not worth noticing

Al
All Star
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:47 pm

Post by Al » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:23 am

I would be surprised if you could not use any disc.
Mine takes all of them DVD-R DVD+R DVD-RW and DVD+RW

User avatar
greycupgarry
2017 MVP
2017 MVP
Posts: 18242
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2003 6:15 am
Location: Sect. 217 Fav. Teams: Argos, Leafs, Stamps, Flames, Patriots, Browns, Storm, Holland
Contact:

Post by greycupgarry » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:34 am

Al wrote:I would be surprised if you could not use any disc.
Mine takes all of them DVD-R DVD+R DVD-RW and DVD+RW


I was just reading my manual for the first time in a year, I know scary, eh.

Seems that it said for sharing on other DVD players the best is DVD-RW. But it's first thing in the morning and coffe is still brewing.
if you have noticed this notice you will have noticed that this notice is not worth noticing

Al
All Star
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:47 pm

Post by Al » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:40 am

Well maybe the - part but not RW.

Do you know the difference between RW and R?

In case you dont.

If you use an RW it can be errased and used again. If you use an R it can only be used once!

User avatar
Shi Zi Mi
Superstar
Posts: 1560
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2002 9:29 pm
Favourite Team: British Columbia Lions
Location: Ulsan, South Korea

Post by Shi Zi Mi » Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:49 am

Inquiring Mind wrote:
Ab wrote:The only problem I could see is if the PVR had any sort of macrovision that would prevent you from recording on another device- like vcr to vcr.


There are ways around that.... :wink:

[legal] Not that I would ever dream of such a transgression[/legal]

:lol:


If you're talking about the HDCP crap, I'd like to know a way around this..........it's a pain in the ass.
Lloyd

Al
All Star
Posts: 726
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 1:47 pm

Post by Al » Tue Jan 30, 2007 12:48 pm

Ab wrote:The only problem I could see is if the PVR had any sort of macrovision that would prevent you from recording on another device- like vcr to vcr.


I transfer from my PVR to DVD all the time and I have never had a problem

BBBob
Hall of Famer
Posts: 9041
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 9:17 am

Post by BBBob » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:05 pm

Al wrote:
Ab wrote:The only problem I could see is if the PVR had any sort of macrovision that would prevent you from recording on another device- like vcr to vcr.


I transfer from my PVR to DVD all the time and I have never had a problem


How do you handle burning hd content AL?

:beer:

User avatar
tigger
2017 MVP
2017 MVP
Posts: 7866
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2002 4:46 pm
Favourite Team: Hamilton Tiger Cats
Location: The Hammer
Contact:

Post by tigger » Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:18 pm

BTW, I've had this set up since January and haven't even tried recording anything yet.

Well, if you get off the valium... :tease:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests