Free Anti-Virus Software

Boys love the Toys ... Discuss the latest toys, technologies, Virus Alerts, Help others with Home Improvements or fixin the car, etc.

Moderator: Referees

Confusion_Say
Superstar

Free Anti-Virus Software

Post by Confusion_Say » Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:11 pm

I've been running Norton antivirus for a few years now keeping my subscription current. It was due up for renewal, and a couple of the guys at work told me to download the free version of AVG antivirus

http://free.grisoft.com/freeweb.php/doc/2

I loaded it up and ran it. It found three trojan horse viruses that got by Norton! It seems to have all the live update features etc that Norton has.
Canada works best when we say "Union Yes". Organize now-Ask me how!

ArgoDave
Legend
Favourite Team: Toronto Argonauts
Location: Sitting in my chair, being a swell guy loved by all...

Post by ArgoDave » Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:15 pm

I use it on both my machines, it works fine and isn't the resource hog Norton is.

That new MS AntiSpyware app is free and it works OK too.

That along with the freebie version of ZoneAlarm and you have good, basic protection for nothing. :clap: :beauty:
Gord for Mayor of Swaggerville!

Inquiring Mind
Hall of Famer

Post by Inquiring Mind » Tue Feb 22, 2005 6:32 pm

I wouldn't recommend AVG, AntiVir ver. 6 is the way to go, and is super user friendly and easy on the resources.
-

Look. We can go round and round about this all the live long day. Let's keep it simple. I embody amazement. Can you dig on that? Good. Then meet me on the corner of rock and roll, and bring a flask of something that burns.

BBBob
Hall of Famer

Post by BBBob » Tue Feb 22, 2005 7:02 pm

AVG is my choice and the A/V solution that I recommend to clients.
AFAIK, AVG is consistantly rated #1 in threats detected and is always in the top three for using the minimum amount of system resources.

I haven't tried AntiVir but I'll give it a l :i: :i: k.

:beer:

Big J
Hall of Famer